Dead Cross Logo

Dead Cross is a hardcore-punk band from southern California established by Dave Lombardo in 2015, featuring Mike Patton on vocals. Their debut album is due for release on the 4th of August, 2017.

Dead Cross Formation and Early Days (2015-2016)

Dead Cross formed after Dave Lombardo ended his band Philm in late 2015. In November 2015, with an upcoming Philm tour already scheduled and studio time with Ross Robinson already booked, Dave invited some earlier tourmates into the studio to jam. The tourmates included Justin Pearson and Gabe Serbian who had toured with Lombardo and Fantomas as part of The Locust, as well as Mike Crain who was a member of The Locust off-shoot Retox with both Pearson and Serbian.

This group of former tourmates turned into Dead Cross almost immediately, performing their first gig on December the 1st 2015.  Lombardo performed drumming duties alongside Pearson on Bass, Crain on  Guitar and Serbian on vocals. The released their first song ‘We’ll Sleep When They’re Dead’ in March 2016 on the band’s Sound Cloud page (which has since been removed).

They then performed another series of shows in early 2016 including support for Melt-Banana, The Melvins, and Napalm Death. In April 2017, they also performed at the Modified Ghost Festival in Vancouver alongside bands such as The Dillinger Escape Plan, and Gabe Serbian’s old band Cattle Decapitation.

Promo photo of Dead Cross

Early Dead Cross Promo Photo including Gabe Serbian, who later left the band and was replaced with Mike Patton.

Dead Cross Songs

Prior to releasing their album Dead Cross had seven songs written for their live performnaces, these included:

  • We’ll Sleep When They’re Dead
  • I Want to Leave
  • Crushed Under the Wheels of Progress

Dead Cross also performed a cover of Bauhaus’ “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” as part of their live performances.

Change of Vocalist to Mike Patton (2016-Present)

In September 2016, Pearson discussed on the ‘Everything Went Black’ podcast that Gabe Serbian had left the band and that they had a new singer.  The new singer was also re-recording the vocals. Along with the new singer, he also revealed they had a label to release the album.  Unfortunately, at the time Pearson was unable to disclose who the new band member, saying:

I’m not even allowed to say yet.  He’s kind of like an established singer and we need an official announcement or something.

And then the following when asked about the label:

I don’t know if I’m allowed to say that either. I just play Bass!  I wanna be like ‘it’s this label and this is the singer’.

At the time we surmised that Mike Patton was the new singer, however, Ipecac Recordings wouldn’t confirm this.

On December 13, 2016, through Speakeasy PR,  it was announced that Dead Cross had added Mike Patton as the band’s singer. The press release also confirmed that an album would be coming in 2017 and it would be released on Mike Patton’s Ipecac Recordings.

The Style of Dead Cross

When Noisey asked Lombardo about the style of Dead Cross in November 2015, he said:

It’s just straightforward brutal punk— metal-esque, but it’s definitely not metal. I think it definitely leans more towards the punk style, because I feel that the way things are in the world, a punk attitude is definitely necessary to help you along with the shit that’s going on.

There’s no time to sing “We Are the World,” or all this bullshit, we’re all pissed right now, and there’s no better way to release anger than to be in a punk band and write punk music.


Dead Cross – Self-titled (2017)

On the 14th of March, the mastering of their first album was confirmed as completed at Golden Mastering, California. The album was shown to be an eponymous, self-titled, release and had an Ipecac Recordings ID of IPC-193.

Similar to Mike Patton’s experience with The Real Thing when he joined Faith No More, the music for the album complete his role was to add his lyrics and vocals.

The original album’s recordings were tracked and recorded by famous producer Ross Robinson. Mike Patton recorded his own vocals entirely by himself and communicated back and forth with Dave Lombardo over email. It is expected that he recorded his vocals at as his own Vulcan Studios.

Dead Cross’ debut album is due to be released on the 4th of August, 2017.

Track Listing

There is currently no information about the album’s track listing, however, it is expected that one of the tracks to be included will be Shillelagh (see below).  It is also unclear whether the songs that have already been performed will receive new names or just new lyrics.

Album Art Work.

There is currently no information about the album’s artwork.

Saint Patrick’s Day Release of Dead Cross’ Shillelagh

On the 17th of March 2017, St. Patricks Day, for a limited time, Dead Cross released their first song with Mike Patton on vocals. The song titled ‘Shillelagh’ was available to listen to on the band’s Sound Cloud page. Shillelagh is an Irish word for a stick or club. The song came in at a blistering 2:32 long.

Shortly afterward, copies of the song were published by fans on YouTube but were taken down at the request of Ipecac Recordings.

Dead Cross Tour Dates

Dead Cross’ first announced show with Mike Patton at the helm is at Riot Fest in Chicago, IL on the 15th-17th of September 2017.

There is currently limited information about further Dead Cross dates. Justin Pearson has stated that he assumes there will be a tour after their debut album is released.  Additionally, Lombardo has discussed that there is likely to be a tour in late-summer 2017 that won’t conflict with his duties with Suicidal Tendencies, and that Mike Patton is excited about the project and touring.

Members of Dead Cross

Current Members

  • Dave Lombardo (2015-present) – Drums
  • Justin Pearson (2015-present) – Bass Guitar
  • Michael Crain  (2015-present) – Guitar
  • Mike Patton (2016-present) – Vocals

Former Members

  • Gabe Serbian (2015-2016) – Vocals

Latest Dead Cross News

Breaking News: Dead Cross Debut Album Release Date Announced

Today on the Peer Pleasure podcast the release date of the Debut Dead Cross Album was dropped.  Find out more about the release here ...
Read More
First Dead Cross Show With Mike Patton Announced

Dead Cross to Perform at Riot Fest – Chicago, IL 15-17 Sept

Dead Cross' first show since Mike Patton joined has been announced.  They'll be performing at Riot Fest in September this year ...
Read More
Dave Lombardo DIscusses Dead Cross Release for Late Summer

Dave Lombardo Talks about Dead Cross Album Release and Touring, Plus More

Dave Lombardo was recently interviewed by Full Metal Jackie her Whiplash show on 95.5 KLOS where he spoke about the release of Dead Cross' debut album and touring ...
Read More
Dead Cross release their first song Shillelagh

The First Dead Cross Song Shillelagh is released!

Dead Cross have dropped their first song from their debut self-titled album. Shillelagh was released specially for St. Patrick's day.  Listen to it here before it's unavailable ...
Read More
Dead Cross finish their self-titled debut album

Dead Cross Album is Complete

Today Justin Pearson's record label released an image of the mastered debut album from Mike Patton's new band Dead Cross ...
Read More