Peeping Tom – Peeping Tom (2006)

Album art for the self-titled debut album by Peeping Tom

Peeping Tom – Peeping Tom

Peeping Tom album is the self-titled debut album created by Mike Patton and a multitude of other artists. It was released in 2006 in collaboration with Norah Jones, Kool Keith as well as Massive Attack. The band and album are both named after the Peeping Tom movie of Michael Powell (1960).

Mojo was the one single released from the album, along with a video. The video was directed by Matt McDermitt and features some guest celebrity appearances including Danny DeVito, Mark Hoppus (Blink-182) and Rachel Hunter.

Buy CD Buy Digital Buy Vinyl

Norah Jones Swearing

Norah Jones appears on the song “Sucker” and garnered additional attention. Normally known for her demure performances, this was the first time that Norah Jones openly swore in a recording. The lyrics for Sucker:

There’s one born every minute.
Sucker, Sucker.
So keep it in your pants, boy.
Sucker, Sucker.
What makes you think you’re my only lover?
The truth kinda hurts don’t it motherfucker?

Peeping Tom’s Album Art

The packaging of the CD was also particularly unique. When the tab on the right side of the album is pulled, and the CD actually pops out of the left side. The image of a woman seen through a keyhole quickly changes to an image of an eye. On the other side of the album the credits and other images are included.

Peeping Tom Critical Reception

The album received a warm and rather positive response on behalf of the critics. Metacritic gave it a score of 64 out of 100. Peeping Tom is an album that managed to make an impression especially with songs like “Kill the DJ” which featured Massive Attack or “Mojo” which featured Dan the Automator.

Buy CD Buy Digital Buy Vinyl

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.