The Real Thing – Faith No More (1989)

Album art for The Real Thing- Faith No More

The Real Thing- Faith No More

When The Real Thing was released in 1989, it was initially not anticipated to be a breakout album. At the time Faith No More’s music was a blend of funk, rap, and metal, which seems to be a bit out of place considering the hair-metal scene that still popular at the time. The band was also experimenting with a new line-up, which is why nothing was sure about how well-received the album will be.

However, after its release, it did not take long before the album skyrocketed to success, as proven by high-volume sales and inclusion in the Billboard Top 20. In the U.S. alone, the album has sold more than a million copies. It also gathered two Grammy nominations, which can be seen as one of the greatest validations of the band’s success.

Buy CD Buy Digital Buy Vinyl

Changing of Singers for The Real Thing

Prior to recording The Real Thing, Chuck Mosley served as the vocalist of Faith No More. When he was axed, they searched for a replacement, which they found in Mike Patton. Even at a young age, Patton proved to be an excellent addition to the band, as demonstrated by the success of their first album together. Although the lyrics were less matured compared to the previous vocalist, it did not take long after the release of The Real Thing before Patton was able to establish his reputation, taking the band on to greater heights. Because of his help, this album is considered as one of the greatest from the band.

The Real Thing’s Reception

The album did not achieve its success overnight. In fact, it was only after the release of the second single when it truly gained ground and began being noticed. When they released “Epic”, it was the time when they started having a more robust presence. It was during this time when they reached Billboard. To this day, “Epic” is considered as not just one of the greatest songs of Faith No More but also one of the greatest metal songs of all time. It has been praised by music critics and by music fans all over the world.

Who Created The Real Thing

The Real Thing was created by Mike Patton on vocals (credited as Michael Patton), Jim Martin on guitar, Billy Gould on bass (credited as Bill Gould), Roddy Bottum on keyboards, and Mike Bordin on drums.

Additionally, The Real Thing was produced by Matt Wallace and Faith No More; the third straight album that he’d produced for Faith No More. He was also credited with engineering the album alongside Jim “Watts” Vereecke.  Jim “Watts” Vereecke and Craig Doubet were assistant engineers.

The album was recorded at Studio D in Sausalito, California in December 1989, before being mixed at Blue Canyon, Studio City, California in January 1989, and finally being mastered at K-Disc, Los Angeles, California by John Golden.

Art Direction for The Real Thing was undertaken by Jeff Price, with photography by Lendon Flanagon and CD Design by Terry Robertson.

Track Listing

  1. From Out of Nowhere

    Duration: 3:22 | Lyrics: Mike Patton | Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum

  2. Epic

    Duration: 4:53 | Lyrics: Mike Patton | Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum, Jim Martin, Mike Bordin

  3. Falling to Pieces

    Duration: 5:15 | Lyrics: Mike Patton | Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum, Jim Martin

  4. Surprise! You’re Dead!

    Duration: 2:27 | Lyrics: Mike Patton, Jim Martin | Music: Jim Martin

  5. Zombie Eaters

    Duration: 5:58 | Lyrics: Mike Patton |  Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum, Jim Martin, Mike Bordin

  6. The Real Thing

    Duration: 8:13 | Lyrics: Mike Patton, Billy Gould | Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum

  7. Underwater Love

    Duration: 3:51 | Lyrics: Mike Patton | Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum

  8. The Morning After

    The Morning After was previously released as The New Improved Song with Chuck Mosley originally providing vocals. It was released as a limited edition 7″ vinyl with Sounds magazine, called Sounds Waves 2, on the 12th of March 1988 (Issue 1574). The release included The New Improved Song as the first track on side B and also included songs by The Jesus and Mary Chain, Head of David, and The Godfathers.  The New Improved Song was later available on Faith No More’s The Very Best Definitive Ultimate Greatest Hits Collection (2009).

    Duration: 3:43 | Lyrics: Mike PattonMusic: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum, Jim Martin

  9. Woodpecker from Mars

    Woodpecker from Mars is an instrumental song.

    Duration: 5:40 | Music: Jim Martin, Mike Bordin

  10. War Pigs

    War Pigs is a cover of the Black Sabbath song from their 1970 album Paranoid. It was not included in the original vinyl release of The Real Thing.

    Duration: 7:45 | Lyrics: Geezer Butler | Music: Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward

  11. Edge of the World

    Edge of the World was not included in the original vinyl release of The Real Thing, and is the last song on side A of the cassette release (song #6).

    Duration: 4:10 | Lyrics: Mike Patton | Music: Billy Gould, Roddy Bottum, Mike Bordin

Buy CD Buy Digital Buy Vinyl